11
Apr
07

Lara confirms retirement from ODI cricket

“I think this is the end of my one-day career, for sure. I honestly feel that my game is over and we should give it to one of the younger players. It’s really tough playing one-day internationals out there. After the World Cup the next one-day tournament for the West Indies is in June in England and I would love to sit back and watch and see the team do well.” – Brian Lara

One of the legends of cricket and West Indian captain Brian Lara has confirmed that he is retiring from one-day format of the game.

“I want to leave a team that play better. And that is still my hope. These might be my last two one-day internationals but I still want to see the team moving out of this competition learning something from it and that’s all I can hope for. It’s demoralising yes but I want to see certain things happen and I want to see the team move on,” he said.

Lara has played 297 ODIs and scored 10,354 runs at 40.60 with 19 hundreds and 63 half-centuries.

Source: NewindPress

0 Responses to “Lara confirms retirement from ODI cricket”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

>> WeCite Blog Stats

  • 575,849 PEOPLE READ THIS BLOG

>> Add to Favorites

Add to Technorati Favorites

JOIN US ON FACEBOOK!

WeCite Calender

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

WeCite Blog Feed

UNDERSTAND THIS!

DEMOCRACY DON'T RULE THE WORLD, YOU'D BETTER GET THAT IN YOUR HEAD; THIS WORLD IS RULED BY VIOLENCE, BUT I GUESS THAT'S BETTER LEFT UNSAID - Bob Dylan: American folksinger.

>> Creative Commons

php hit counter

